Skip to content

People

Principal Investigator

Wonhwa Cho

Liberal Arts & Sciences Science Endowed Chair, UIC Distinguished Professor, and Head

wcho@uic.edu

Current Members

Ashutosh Sharma

Visiting Research Assistant Professor

“I develop new ratiometric sensors for direct quantification of cellular membrane curvature and molecular interactions”
sharma61@uic.edu

(Sunny) Jiachen Sun

Graduate Student

“I develop new lipid sensors and study the mechanisms of PI3K signaling”
jsun71@uic.edu

Hoon Kee Kim

Graduate Student

“I develop novel small molecule modulators of lipid signaling”
hkim464@uic.edu

Simona Kavrakova

Graduate Student

“I study the mechanisms of lipid signaling and develop lipid signaling modulators”
skavra2@uic.edu

Madalyn PuckettĀ 

Graduate Student

“I study the lipid regulation of growth factor signaling in cancer”
mpucke3@uic.edu

Julian Zalejski

Graduate Student

“I work on cholesterol signaling”
jzalej2@uic.edu

Kyli Berkley

Graduate Student

“I investigate the novel mechanisms by which cholesterol and phosphoinositide regulate diverse cellular processes”
kberk4@uic.edu

Nidhi Sharma

Graduate Student

“I develop small molecular modulators of cellular lipid-protein interactions involved in cancer”
nsharm48@uic.edu

Xingyu Guo

Graduate Student

“I study the role of cholesterol signaling in T-cells and other immune cells”

Masha Strelkova

Undergraduate Student

“I study the role of lipids as signaling molecules”
mstrel3@uic.edu


Cho Group Alumni

Not Exhaustive

NameAffiliationCurrent Position E-Mail
Dua, RajivPh. D., 1995Senior Investigator, Roche Molecular Diagnosticsrdua@monogrambio.com
Mukhopadhyay, TuliPh. D., 1996Associate Professor,
Indiana University
sumukhop@indiana.edu
Koo, YumeePh. D., 1998Assistant Professor, University of the Sciences in Philadelphiay.koo@usip.edu
Lee, Byung InPh. D., 1999Product Development Manager, InvitrogenByung-in.lee@invitrogen.com
Han, Sang KyouPh. D., 2000Assistant Adjunct Professor, UCSDsah008@ucsd.edu
Medkova, MartinaPh. D., 2000Senior Scientist, RainDance Technologies, Inc.Mme108@yahoo.com
Sumandea, MariusPh. D., 2000Discovery Researcher, Eli Lilly and Co.
Bitto, EduardPh. D., 2001Associate Professor,
Georgian Court University
ebitto@georgian.edu
Kim, KwangpyoPh. D., 2002Professor,
Kyung Hee University, Korea
kpkim@konkuk.ac.kr
Digman, MichellePh. D., 2003Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering, UC Irvinemdigman@uci.edu
Rafter, JohnSenior Scientist, Bruker-Prairie Technologyjohn.rafter@bruker.com
Das, SudiptoPh. D., 2003Scientist, SAIC-Fredrick, Inc. NCIdassu@mail.nih.gov
Stahelin, RobertPh. D., 2003
Postdoc 03-06
Retter Professor of Pharmacy
Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Purdue University
rstaheli@purdue.edu
Kulkarni, ShilpaPh. D., 2003Faculty, Albert Einstein College of Medicineshilpa.kulkarni@einstein.yu.edu
Kim, Young JunPh. D., 2004Associate Professor,
Konkuk University, Korea
yok002@UCSD.Edu
Wijewickrama, GihaniPh. D., 2007Scientist, Genentech Inc., South San Franciscowijewickrama.gihani@gene.com
Tian, Wen (Amy)Ph. D., 2008Senior Research Scientist, Stanford universityamytian@stanford.edu
Manna, DebasisPh. D., 2008Assistant Professor,
IIT-Guwahati, India
dmanna@iitg.ac.in
Tun, Moe (M.D.)Ph. D., 2008MSK Fellow, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TXMoe.P.Tun@dmu.edu
Lucas, NathanPh.D., 2011Scientist, Protein Engineering Division, Stratos Genomics, Seattle, WAnlucas@stratosgenomics.com
Yoon, YoungdaePh.D, 2012Assistant Professor, Konkuk University, Koreayyoon21@gmail.com
Sheng, RenPh.D, 2014Assistant Professor, Notheastern University, Chinashengren1211@126.com
Chen, YongPostdoc, 2009-2011Senior Scientist, Abbvieychen@abbvie.com
Liu, ShulinPostdoc, 2013-2017Assistant Professor, Nankai University, Chinashulin-liu@163.com