WHO WE ARE

 

Wonhwa Cho (wcho@uic.edu)
Liberal Arts & Sciences Science Endowed Chair & UIC Distinguished Professor

 

Current members

Ashutosh Sharma (sharma61@uic.edu)
Postdoctoral Fellow

"I develop new ratiometric sensors for direct quantification of cellular membrane curvature and molecular interactions"

Animesh Pan (animesh5@uic.edu)
Postdoctoral Fellow

"I develop new sensors and methodologies for in situ quantification of cellular lipid-protein interactions"

Sukhamoy Gorai (sukhamoy@uic.edu)
Postdoctoral Fellow

"I develop small molecular modulators of cellular lipid-protein interactions"

 

 

Indira Singaram (isinga2@uic.edu)
Graduate Student

"I investigate the novel mechanisms by which cholesterol regulates diverse cellular processes"

Pawanthi Buwaneka (pbuwan2@uic.edu)
Graduate Student

"I investigate the mechanisms by which lipids regulate TGF beta signaling pathways"

Arthur Ralko (aralko2@uic.edu)
Graduate Student

"I investigate the mechanisms of novel growth factor signaling pathways in breast cancer"

Jiachen "Sunny" Sun (jsun71@uic.edu)
Graduate Student

"I develop new lipid sensors and study the mechanisms of PI3K signaling"

Hoon Kee Kim (hkim464@uic.edu)
Graduate Student

"I develop novel small molecule modulators of lipid signaling"

Simona Kavrakova (skavra2@uic.edu)
Graduate Student

"I study the mechanisms of lipid signaling and develop lipid signaling modulators"

Christine Chioma Nnyamah (cnnyam2@uic.edu)
Graduate Student

"I study the mechanisms of lipid signaling and develop lipid signaling modulators"

 


Raymond Liu (rliu56@uic.edu)
Undergraduate Student

 

 

 


Cho Group Alumni (not exhaustive)

Name

Cho Group Affiliation

Current Position

E-Mail

Dua, Rajiv

Ph. D., 1995

Senior Investigator, Roche Molecular Diagnostics

rdua@monogrambio.com

Mukhopadhyay, Tuli

Ph. D., 1996

Associate Professor,
Indiana University

sumukhop@indiana.edu

Koo, Yumee

Ph. D., 1998

Assistant Professor, University of the Sciences in Philadelphia

y.koo@usip.edu

Lee, Byung In

Ph. D., 1999

Product Development Manager, Invitrogen

Byung-in.lee@invitrogen.com

Han, Sang Kyou

Ph. D., 2000

Assistant Adjunct Professor, UCSD

sah008@ucsd.edu

Medkova, Martina

Ph. D., 2000

Senior Scientist, RainDance Technologies, Inc.

Mme108@yahoo.com

Sumandea, Marius

Ph. D., 2000

Discovery Researcher, Eli Lilly and Co.

 

Bitto, Eduard

Ph. D., 2001

Associate Professor,
Georgian Court University

ebitto@georgian.edu

Kim, Kwangpyo

Ph. D., 2002

Professor,
Kyung Hee University, Korea

kpkim@konkuk.ac.kr

Digman, Michelle

Ph. D., 2003

Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering, UC Irvine

mdigman@uci.edu

Rafter, John

 

Senior Scientist, Bruker-Prairie Technology

john.rafter@bruker.com

Das, Sudipto

Ph. D., 2003

Scientist, SAIC-Fredrick, Inc. NCI

dassu@mail.nih.gov

Stahelin, Robert

Ph. D., 2003
Postdoc 03-06

Retter Professor of Pharmacy
Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Purdue University

rstaheli@purdue.edu

Kulkarni, Shilpa

Ph. D., 2003

Faculty, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

shilpa.kulkarni@einstein.yu.edu

Kim, Young Jun

Ph. D., 2004

Associate Professor,
Konkuk University, Korea

yok002@UCSD.Edu

Wijewickrama, Gihani Ph. D., 2007
Scientist, Genentech Inc., South San Francisco
wijewickrama.gihani@gene.com
Tian, Wen (Amy) Ph. D., 2008 Senior Research Scientist, Stanford university amytian@stanford.edu

Manna, Debasis

Ph. D., 2008

Assistant Professor,
IIT-Guwahati, India

dmanna@iitg.ac.in

Tun, Moe (M.D.)

Ph. D., 2008

MSK Fellow, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

Moe.P.Tun@dmu.edu

Lucas, Nathan

Ph.D., 2011

Scientist, Protein Engineering Division, Stratos Genomics, Seattle, WA

nlucas@stratosgenomics.com

Yoon, Youngdae Ph.D, 2012 Assistant Professor, Konkuk University, Korea yyoon21@gmail.com
Sheng, Ren Ph.D, 2014 Assistant Professor, Notheastern University, China shengren1211@126.com
Chen, Yong Postdoc, 2009-2011 Senior Scientist, Abbvie ychen@abbvie.com
Liu, Shulin Postdoc, 2013-2017 Assistant Professor, Nankai University, China shulin-liu@163.com